Valborg 2016 // Walpurgis night 2016

Jag tycket att vi sätter på Veronica Maggios “17 år” så att man får en bra Valborg-i-Uppsala-känsla. 🙂

I think that we should turn on Veronica Maggio’s “17 år” (“17 years”) so we’re getting that Walpurgis-in-Uppsala-feeling. 🙂 For those of you who don’t understand Swedish, it’s a song about wanting to leave your hometown, experiencing something new and Walpurgis Night in Uppsala (Maggio’s hometown).

Jag tog en sovmorgon (för att det var helg och då får man faktiskt sova! (och för att jag är för snål att betala pengar för sillunch + det verkade tråkigt)) och sedan tog jag mig ned till Järnbron och Fyrisån för att ta en titt på forsränningen. Jag fick lite minnen av Squvalp från KTH, jag tror att alla studenter som har byggt sina flottar tyckte att det var riktigt kul. Efter ett tag gick jag vidare mot ett av åns fall för att se det man egentligen vill se – om flottarna kommer klara sig för fallet eller inte! Det var en del som föll omkull, andra tappade sina frigolitväggar och några få hade bara själva botten kvar och inga årar då de tappade dem – stackarna! Men självklart var det några som klarade sig nedför fallet också. 🙂 Flottarna var utsmyckade som tecknade figurer (Simpsons, Minions, Hattifnattarna från Mumin, Super Mario/Luigi/Wario och så), vissa hade naturtema med blommor, andra var inspirerade av mat… den bästa tyckte jag nog var “Trampbåten” – med Donald Trump som galjonsfigur och med en kostymklädd besättning. Studentsatir!

Var det någon annan som märkte JAS Gripen planen som flög över stan? Var det för att kungen fyllde 70 år eller?

I slept in (because it was a weekend and then you’re actually permitted to sleep! (and because I was too stingy about paying money for “Sillunch” (“Herring lunch”, a breakfast that’s apparently a tradition to have in Uppsala) + it seemed boring)) and then I walked down to the Iron Bridge and the Fyris river to watch the water rafting. Jag got flashbacks from Squvalp from KTH, I think all the students who had built the rafts thought it was really fun. After a while I moved towards one of the waterfalls to see what you really want to see – if the rafts will make it or not! Some of them fell over, others lost their styrofoam walls and a few only had their bottoms left and no oars because they lost them – poor them! But of course there were a few ones that made it down the waterfall. 🙂 The rafts were decorated as cartoon figures (The Simpsons, the Minions, Hattifatteners from Moomin, Super Mario/Luigi/Wario and so on), some were nature themed, others were inspired by food… but I think the best one was the “Trampbåten” (“the pedalo”) – with Donald Trump as figurehead and with a suit dressed crew. Student satire! (the “Trampbåten” is a wordplay of Trump’s name and a pedalo boat, pronounced the same in Swedish as his name).

Was there someone else who noticed the JAS Gripen airplanes flying over the town? Was that because the king had his 70th birthday or..?

Eftersom jag spenderade dagen själv så gick jag runt i stan (efter att jag återvände hem för att ta på mig en tjocktröja och byta jacka – det kändes kallt fast solen sken – och för att äta lunch), hörde på den genomträngande musiken som hördes genom hela stan från alla nationer (verkade vara världens party! såg jättekul ut!)… eftersom jag inte hade nåt bättre för mig.

Since I spent the day alone, I walked around in the town (after returning home for putting on a hoodie and change jacket – it felt cold even when the sun shone – and to eat some lunch), hearing the penetrating music that was heard all over the town from all the nations (seemed to be the biggest party ever! looked really fun!)… because I had nothing better to do.

IMAG1889

Stockholm’s Nation, close to the Cathedral. Look at the queue!

När klockan blev 14 stod jag utanför Carolina Rediviva och lyssnade på Wijkmanska Blecket från Uplands nation som spelade på bibliotekets trappa – de var riktigt duktiga! De höll på till 14:45 och sedan återstod det en kvart innan rektor skulle signalera från balkongen att alla skulle ta på sig sin studentmössa och därefter Orphei Drängar sjöng in våren. Riktigt mäktigt! Denna dag kände man hur Uppsala verkligen är studenternas stad och hur hela dagen ägnades åt oss.

I was standing outside Carolina Rediviva when the clock got 2PM and listened to Wijkmanska Blecket from Upland’s nation which were playing on the stairs to the library – they  were really good! They kept on playing until a quarter to three and then it only left fifteen minutes before the Rector would signal from the balcony to everyone to put on their student caps, and thereafter Orphei Drängar sang in the spring. Really impressive! This day you really felt how Uppsala truly is the city of students and how the whole day was devoted to us.

Wijkmanska Blecket performing on the steps of Carolina Rediviva.

Och om det såg ut så här innan klockan blev tre… // And if it looked like this before 3PM…

… kolla bara på hur mycket folk det kom till rektorns signal!! Titta aaaallra längst bort! // … just look at the crowd who had gathered for the Rector’s signal!! Keep looking faaaar away!

Här är lite bättre bilder tagna av Upsala Nya Tidning: // Here are some better photos from Upsala Nya Tidning (local news paper):

Och sedan… var dagen mer eller mindre klar för mig. Folk satt och hade picknick, umgicks med sina vänner eller med sin familj och det fanns inget på schemat förrän klockan 9 (om man inte skulle äta middag på slottet följt av bal). Så jag satte mig ned för att läsa i “Blonde” tills jag kände att det blev alldeles för kallt. Berodde nog på att jag satt stilla, men jag gick till en liten butik och köpte vindruvor, jordgubbar och kanelbullar medan jag drog ut tiden innan jag skulle gå hem igen. Jag gick på en liten upptäcktsfärd mellan villorna som jag ser dagligen på väg till skolan och det kändes lite som hemma i Stockholm igen. Efter det började promenera mot Flogsta innan jag ångrade mig – jag behövde middag, ett varmt täcke och en toalett så det var bara att vända hemåt. Min rumskompis/hyresvärd hade sagt att hon skulle bjuda hem vänner, och jag ville inte störa… om jag nu skulle kunna störa, jag är för det mesta tyst på mitt rum (och hon i sitt). Men jag smög in till mitt rum med min frukt, mina bullar och min middag medan jag tittade på TV tills jag inte hålla ögonen öppna längre.

And then… the day was more or less done for me. People sat and had picnics, had fun with friends of family members and there was nothing more on the schedule until 9PM (unless you were going to have dinner at the castle and then dance at the ball). So I sat down to read “Blonde” until it got too cold outside. It probably felt cold because I sat still, but I walked to a small supermarket and bought grapes, strawberries and cinnamonbuns while I killed time before I could return home. I had a small adventure trip along the villas I see daily on my way to school, and it felt a bit like back home in Stockholm. After that I began walking towards Flogsta before I changed my mind – I needed dinner, a warm blanket and a toilet so I just had to go home. My roommate/landlady had told me about her friends coming over, and I didn’t want to disturb… not that I think I do disturb so much, I’m mostly quiet in my room (and she’s in hers). But I sneaked into my room with my fruit, my buns and my dinner while I watched TV until I couldn’t keep my eyes open any longer.

IMAG1900

Norrland’s nation played jazz outside their building.

I got so glad when I found a blossoming cherry tree! I thought they had all blossomed already. ♥

IMAG1904

Too bad it had to look like this after everyone’s picnic. I read that these filthy garbaged left at the end of the day was actually LESS than previous years – I wonder what it must have looked like then, because all I could see was white plastic bags everywhere! This is just outside where I live too..!

Leave a Reply

