I should have made a fuss about it

Jag blev så upprörd. Inombords. Vi säljer chokladbollar på restaurangen och idag var det en tant som kallade dem för “negerbollar”. Jag blev så arg! Om jag kan gå från att säga “Najk” till “Najkii” (Nike) så borde väl hon lära sig att säga chokladboll som alla andra?? Allt jag fick fram var “… och en chokladboll, ja.” Så jädra mesigt. Jag skulle ha sagt “nä, nu förstod jag inte, en vad för nånting sade du?” och tvingat henne att säga det rätta innan hon fick betala. Blir så sur på mig själv! Slår vad om att hon är rasse också.

Jag skulle säga att minst 90% av alla som jobbar på restaurangen har utländsk bakgrund, och… jag borde ha stått upp för dem mot den där tanten. Jädra tant, fick god lust att kasta ut henne. Men jag har väl inte behörighet till det eftersom jag bara sommarjobbar.

Some damaged flowers lying on the metro wagon’s floor when I was going home from summer work

I got so upset. Inside. We sell chocolate balls at the restaurant and today there was this old lady who called them “negro balls” (a veeeeeery old name for them in Sweden which no one uses anymore!). I got so mad! If I can go from saying “Najk” to “Nikee” (Nike) she should be able to say chocolate balls like everybody else?? All I managed to say was “… and a chocolate ball,  yes.” So freakin’ lame. I should have said “no, I don’t quite understand you, a what did you say?” and forced her to say the correct thing before letting her pay for everything. I got so mad at myself! I bet she’s a racist too.

I’d say that at least 90% of the restaurant staff have a foreign background and… I should have stood up for them. Effing granny, I really wanted to kick her out of the restaurant. But I suppose I’m not allowed to do that since I only work there on the summers.

One thought on “I should have made a fuss about it

Leave a Reply

