Cells in blood smears

Cells I need to know how to identify by Tuesday. A good picture of most of them can be seen in this picture, in this picture and in this picture as well.

Erythrocyte (red blood cells)

  • No nucleus
  • They’re everywhere lol
  • About 7.5 mikrometers long

Neutrophil granulocyte

  • Segmented nucleus (2-5 lobuli)
  • Excentric nucleus
  • Coarse chromatin inside nucleus
  • Abundant cytoplasm
  • Clear and light granules
  • 10-15 mikrometers long
  • Example links: here and here

Eosinophilic granulocyte

  • Segmented nucleus (2 lobuli) which may “look like sunglasses” according to my notes
  • Excentric nucleus
  • Coarse chromatin inside nucleus
  • Abundant cytoplasm
  • Red granules, as if the cell has freckles
  • 13-15 mikrometers long
  • Example links: here

Basophilic granulocyte

  • Segmented nucleus (2 lobuli)
  • Excentric nucleus
  • Coarse chromatin inside nucleus
  • Abundant cytoplasm
  • Dark and quite large granules which may cover the nucleus
  • 10-15 mikrometers long
  • Example link: here and here

Lymphocyte

  • Round nucleus
  • Nucleus centrally placed in the cell
  • Dense chromatin
  • Sparse cytoplasm
  • Basophilic cytoplasm
  • No granules
  • 6-15 mikrometers (two different types of lymphocytes, that’s why the size differ so much)
  • Example links: here and here

Monocyte

  • Kidney shaped nucleus (mostly, sometimes oval or horse shoe shaped)
  • Excentric nucleus
  • Dense chromatin
  • Abundant cytoplasm
  • Basophilic cytoplasm (weakly)
  • No granules
  • 15-25 mikrometers long
  • Example links: here and here

Thrombocytes/platelets

  • No nucleus
  • No granules
  • 2-4 mikrometers
  • Super tiny and often form a large group together
  • Example link: here

Plasma cell

  • Round nucleus
  • No nucleoli
  • Excentric nucleus in the cell
  • Coarse to dense chromatin
  • Abundant cytoplasm
  • (Strongly) Basophilic cytoplasm with perinuclear clearing
  • No granules
  • 7-15 μm long
  • Example links: here and here

Megakaryocyte

  • Uneven, lobulated nucleus… looks like a blob
  • Excentric nucleus in the cell
  • Heterochromatic chromatin maybe?
  • Abundant cytoplasm
  • Basophilic cytoplasm or violet looking
  • 50-100 μm long
  • Example links: here and here

Cells of the erythropoesis

See a nice picture of them all by clicking on this link.

Erythroblast (or normoblast)

  • Big, round nucleus with a red-purple color
  • May have nucleoli
  • Nucleus centrally placed in the cell
  • Fine chromatin
  • Sparse cytoplasm
  • Basophilic cytoplasm with perinuclear clearing
  • No granules
  • 14-19 mikrometers long
  • Example link: here

Basophilic erythroblast

  • Round nucleus
  • Slightly excentric nucleus in the cell?
  • Heterochromatic chromatin
  • Sparse cytoplasm (but slightly more than a lymphocyte)
  • (Strongly) Basophilic cytoplasm
  • No granules
  • 12-15 μm long
  • Example links: here and here

Polychromatophilic erythroblast

  • Round nucleus
  • Nucleus centrally placed in the cell
  • Coarse chromatin
  • Slightly abundant cytoplasm – the nucleus takes up about 50% of the cytoplasm
  • Weakly basophilic cytoplasm
  • No granules
  • 10-13 μm long
  • Example links: here and here

Orthochromatophilic erythroblast

  • Round nucleus
  • Excentric nucleus in the cell (wants to get rid of the nucleus)
  • Condensed or dense chromatin
  • Sparse cytoplasm
  • Acidophilic cytoplasm (more red than blue)
  • No granules
  • 8-12 μm long

Cells of the myelopoesis

See a nice picture of them all by clicking on this link or by clicking on this link.

Myeloblast

  • Round or oval nucleus
  • Has nucleoli
  • Excentric nucleus in the cell
  • Fine chromatin
  • Sparse cytoplasm
  • Basophilic cytoplasm
  • No granules
  • 15-19 μm long
  • Example link: here and here

Promyelocyte

  • Round or oval nucleus
  • Has nucleoli
  • Excentric nucleus in the cell
  • Fine chromatin
  • Abundant cytoplasm
  • Basophilic cytoplasm
  • Azurophilic granules
  • 18-25 μm long
  • Example link: here

Myelocyte

  • Round or oval nucleus
  • No nucleoli
  • Excentric nucleus in the cell
  • Heterochromatic to coarse chromatin
  • Abundant cytoplasm
  • Color of cytoplasm can differ (depends on what type of granules it contains, it’s much more acidophilic if it contains eosinophilic granules)
  • Granules – neutrophilic, basophilic or eosinophilic
  • 14-20 μm long
  • Example link: here and here

Metamyelocyte

  • Kidney shaped nucleus
  • No nucleoli
  • Excentric nucleus in the cell
  • Coarse to dense chromatin
  • Abundant cytoplasm
  • Color of cytoplasm can differ (depends on what type of granules it contains)
  • Granules – neutrophilic, basophilic or eosinophilic
  • 14-18 μm long
  • Example links: here and here

Band cell

  • Long/elongated non-segmented nucleus, often with a C shape
  • No nucleoli
  • Excentric nucleus in the cell
  • Coarse chromatin
  • Abundant cytoplasm
  • Color of cytoplasm can differ (depends on what type of granules it contains)
  • Granules – neutrophilic, basophilic or eosinophilic
  • 10-15 μm long
  • Example links: here

Segmented granulocyte

  • Lobulated (multiple lobes) nucleus
  • No nucleoli
  • Excentric nucleus in the cell
  • Coarse to dense chromatin
  • Abundant cytoplasm
  • Color of cytoplasm can differ (depends on what type of granules it contains)
  • Granules – neutrophilic, basophilic or eosinophilic
  • 10-12 μm long
  • Example links: here, here and here
17 thoughts on “Cells in blood smears

    • Jag fick aldrig lära mig sånt här i gymnasiet?? O___o Det var mest “det här är en nervcell”. Och så kommer man till universitet och så finns det typ hundra nervceller. xD
      Tack tack! Sitter och går igenom dem nu…

      Like

      • Nja, jag har sett att några skolor också erbjuder det. 😉 Känner i efterhand att jag skulle ha valt natur-natur istället, var bara rädd att jag inte skulle fixa matten… men det gjorde jag ju.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Kanske bara var min hemstad som inte hade det då under min tid. Jag själv valde natur-matte/data så jag har full behörighet i matte. Men det var inget jag läste vidare i sen ändå så det gav mig inget haha. Eller jo, matte E var givande men det var allt.

        Like

      • Haha, ja! Vi hade ett liknande problem med en av våra mattekurser där 70% fick underkänt första omgången. Kursen hette grundläggande matte och var en sammanfattning av gymnasiematten bara men mer ur ett logiskt perspektiv. Var spännande att se hur folk hade olika uppfattningar om vad matte innebar.

        Like

      • Hahaha, vi hade typ samma sak!! xD Alla som hade pluggat på KTHs/SUs sommarmatte-kurs via nätet (något som rekommenderades men jag pallade inte för du vet… matte är inte min grej) klarade typ kursen men jag… Asså, jag fattade ju vad vi gjorde, var ju bara gymnasiematte, men ändå. 😛 Jag failade ändå. … Och de flesta klarade sig.

        Like

      • Vilket sammanträffande! Hade också läst KTHs sommarmattekurs innan jag började min utbildning. Den är så givande! Men skönt att höra att du läser något nu som du trivs med bättre. Finns inget sämre beslut att ta än att ödsla bort dyrbar tid av sitt liv med något man inte trivs med.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Hade kanske klarat av KTH om jag bara hade motivationen. Men jag kände liksom… jag kan inte jobba med nåt som baseras på matte som jag aldrig känt mig säker i. Hur skulle det se ut liksom?
        Positiva med KTH är att man får jobb som (förhoppningsvis) är välbetalt också – nåt jag inte riktigt kan räkna med som biomedicinare tyvärr.

        Like

      • Är du duktig så får du säkerligen jobb. Finns även stora möjligheter utanför Sverige. Du kan ju alltid forska vidare. För mig var det exakt likadant när jag hoppade av pre-med. Tyckte inte om anatomi och fysiologi alls för det var för knöligt för mig. Drogs tillbaka till matten. Men det sköna med att vara ingenjör är att det inte enbart är matte. Alla mina kollegor som läst industriell ekonomi kan ingen matte och de är ingenjörer, hehe. Men jag håller tummarna för dig! Du är duktig och du kommer sannerligen ha ett jobb i framtiden!

        Like

      • Lol, pluggat industriell ekonomi och kan inte matte? Går inte ihop i mina öron. xD
        Tror att man måste ha lite tur också, min ena storebror har sökt doktorandjobb utomlands men inte lyckats få nåt än… och lär väl kanske inte söka fler nu heller när hans tjej har flyttat hit till Sverige. 😛 Men man får väl vara envis och inte så petig när man väljer ut saker kanske. Och ha bra kontakter. De flesta doktorandplatser är redan tillsatta har jag hört, jobbannonserna är ute bara för att det är nåt som man måste göra för att ge jobbet typ. :/
        Men jag är optimistiskt tills verkligheten kommer ikapp, hehe. 😛

        Liked by 1 person

      • Ekonomer brukar vara sämre på matte just för att de håller sig till grunderna och enbart använder miniräknare. På den akademiska nivån försvinner miniräknaren ur matten för ingenjörer för vi måste lära oss förstå logik.

        Jag håller tummarna för dig i vilket fall så att du får göra det du vill göra och mår bra av det!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

