A Head Full Of Dreams – Gothenburg, 2017

WILL BE UPDATED SOON WHEN I HAVE ACCESS TO MY PICTURES AGAIN!

I’m gonna write this in English as it would take too much time to write in both Swedish and English.

Earlier this summer, my brother, his fiancée, mom and I traveled across the country to Gothenburg to see Coldplay on their “A Head Full Of Dreams” tour. If you have read my blog, you may remember that my bro and I saw Coldplay on the same tour last summer, but in our hometown Stockholm.

We lived in a central apartment and no, it doesn’t have anything to do with the concert itself, but it was too gorgeous to not mention. Just look and these pictures! Mom found it on AirBnB.

[insert pictures]

Three of us had GA/standing tickets for one of the shows (25 June (mom had a seating ticket)) and we got ready in the morning and left the apartment for start queuing outside the arena for getting a good spot. Unfortunately, it started raining as soon as we stepped outside and weren’t perfectly prepared for it. I had my rain jacket, but my brother and his fiancée tried to stay dry with ponchos… that broke. We used one to sit on the ground instead. The rain stopped eventually but only to come back every now and then through the whole day. It was insane! 10 degrees Celsius with strong winds switching from rain to moments of sunshine… perfect weather for catching a cold.

The merchandise and t-shirts were more or less the same as last year if I remember correctly, and I got myself a rainbow flower shirt that I wanted last year.

Everyone complained about the weather (thankfully we bought some blankets and towels to keep us warm… it really was a nightmare). And it didn’t stop after getting inside the arena either.

Inside, after founding some great spots to stay at, we befriended some other fans and two Danish women. The women had VIP tickets and gotten some special merchandise – I remember their coloring book and pencils the best. Apparently there were no VIP standing area, which other tour stops had according to the women, and made them a bit sad. Why paying more money if you aren’t going to stay closer to the band than the rest?

And the horrible weather continued.  One of the pre-acts had to cancel (I swear that I saw rain POUR onto their keyboard from the plastic tent above them!), a girl fainted, Sarah (my brother’s fiancée) was shivering, my brother was shivering, nobody was warm and the mood was lousy. As the thought that was in everybody’s mind was: will Coldplay even be able to play in this weather?

Luckily, the rain stopped a bit when they finally entered the stage and everyone, and I mean everyone, seemed to be filled with energy again. Nobody cared about how awful the weather had been anymore… and a rainbow appeared to match Coldplay’s colorful stage!

Since I had seen the same show last year, I wasn’t that enthusiastic this time (and I blame the weather on ruining my mood too) and couldn’t help but feeling like it was better then. Perhaps because it was my first time seeing them live and I was more excited. However, I did cry again, not when Clocks played, but when Everglow was performed. Martin’s words about how this song is for everyone who hasn’t made it and passed away and the actual lyrics made me think of my dad. So, I shed some tears and tried to not think about it for the next songs.

[insert YouTube fan cam of everglow]

As thanks for being one of the best audiences they’ve had (standing in pouring rain and cold temperatures all day long), Coldplay promised to perform the best show they’ve ever had and also made us a song! It was really funny and not so bad at all, and I think everyone in Ullevi arena appreciated it.

[insert fan cam of song for fans]

However, after the confetti bombs and huge balloons, the show came to an end and we were relieved to go back to our rented apartment, warm ourselves up and then go to sleep. We slept so well that night… unfortunately we had to wake up early for the train back home to Stockholm. But we slept on the train and also in our own beds at home. ❤️

White Xylobands glowing in the night. Me holding me brother’s hand.

6 thoughts on “A Head Full Of Dreams – Gothenburg, 2017

Leave a Reply

